Wired

1_GloriaMcDonald_assignment 28

Assignment 28 brought us an assignment that took a lot of interpretation for me.   We were to produce a cover in the style of Wired magazine and incorporate our own style with theirs.  Wow, was that hard!  I am finding that when I have to interpret someone else’s vision, I struggle.  I am used to shooting portraits with my own vision, my own style and directing my client to achieve that.  In this case, I was trying to fit my creativity into someone else’s needs and wants.  I’d better get used to it if I am going to add commercial photography to the things I do.

I used to be an art consultant in Southern California back in the early 1990’s.  I worked with interior designers finding art that fit the design jobs they were hired to do.   Sometimes they would ask me to commission a particular artist to create something for them with specific colors but similar to something I had shown of the artist’s work.   I had some artists who could do commissions beautifully and others who could not do them at all.   I remembered all of those who struggled as I waded through ideas and tried to figure out if any of them fit the vision of our instructor.

It was a good exercise for me because of that block I was trying to overcome.  I needed to be able to tell the story of my model and explain why she was on the cover of the magazine.  Since the instructor told us he just wanted an image not text, I didn’t feel that I met the needs of the “invisible client” that I was trying to make happy.  I finally made my own magazine cover with explanatory text.  I turned in my original image which was the one I knew was best technically but I also added a very similar one with the text that I wanted to use.

2_GloriaMcDonald_assignment 28

This course continues to help me see through the eyes of an art director or an individual.  I really love solving the unique problem of being creative, meeting the vision of the art director and melding them into a well composed image that is appealing to many.

Author: Gloria McDonald

I am a Certified Professional Photographer. I am both a portrait and commercial photographic artist. Wild Mane Photography is my company which began in 2004. I love photographing women of all ages, black and white images, drama with a little glamour added and commercial product images..

Leave a Reply

