Tale of Two Perfumes, Part 2

It’s time for Part 2 of this tale.  After turning in the dark perfume layout that I did last week, I had a chance to re-do it.  We were to either catch-up an assignment that we missed, do something totally different and wonderful or redo an earlier assignment that we wanted to improve.  For me, that dark bottle had to be redone.  I didn’t even like the perfume itself that I purchased the first time around.  I thought I did until I actually squirted it beneath my ears and on my wrists.   It made me wheeze and it was very strong smelling when I used it more than one squirt on the wrist in the store.  Since I knew I couldn’t wear it, I returned it to the store and exchanged it for this bottle of Givenchy that is lighter and doesn’t make me wheeze.  I squirted it all over and walked around the store to make sure it would work for me this time.  What luck that I got to switch scents, and in turn, containers.

SECOND FLORAL AD_2

Just like last time, I was surprised by what the box contained for a lid.  I ended up liking both the lid and bottle and this re-done layout a whole lot better than the “green” layout.  Sometimes my stomach just doesn’t feel good when I look at a finished image.  That’s why I knew I needed to take another shot at the perfume assignment.   The light colored bottle helped with creating a Spring look this time.  The bottle looked a little bronze sometimes and pink in other lights.  By combining both of those colors in my backgrounds and props, I ended up with a layout that is pleasing to the eye, shows off the bottle with carefully placed lights and I ended up with new perfume that I like and apparently likes me back.

See you next week!  The assignment is Coca-Cola time!  I can’t wait!

Author: Gloria McDonald

I am a Certified Professional Photographer. I am both a portrait and commercial photographic artist. Wild Mane Photography is my company which began in 2004. I love photographing women of all ages, black and white images, drama with a little glamour added and commercial product images..

Leave a Reply

