2017: A Year of Change

This week’s assignment in Project 52 was a fun one for me.  It did take some thinking prior to shooting, however.  We were to photograph something that could be used for a magazine article.  It had to be upbeat, innovative and revolutionize each of our particular genres of photography.  Since most of my work includes people and the innovation involves something directly connected to me, I thought that it would interest many others.  Now the proof is in the pudding.  Do let me know what you think please.

GloriaMcDonald_Assignment21_NewYearDROP SHADOW
I have been photographing and running Wild Mane Photography since 2004.  It has been a real joy but it has also been hard on my back.  It is the plight of many long time photographers.  Lugging heavy lights, light stands, cameras, and all the accessories to selected locations has definitely taken its toll on me.  Each year it gets harder to recover after a long photo session especially when we’ve moved to several locations as I shoot.  I have been avoiding lugging my heavy camera with those heavy lenses to every place under the sun and have been using my phone for personal pictures.

For Christmas, my husband bought me a Sony A6000 mirrorless camera.  I have used Canon since I switched from my little Kodak Brown as a child.  I’ve also have Canon top of the line lenses.  When I opened my new little Sony, it looked like a toy.  It is feather light, easily fits in my purse and low and behold it produces 24+ megapixel images, shoots in RAW (my preference), shoots in many different modes including aperture priority, shutter priority and manual (always my preference).  It shoots 11 frames per second which is unbelievably fast.  It has a APS-C sensor which isn’t a full frame sensor like my Canon but it is an excellent sensor and by shooting a little wider is easily mitigated. Finally it has image stabilization which may come in handy since it is so small that holding it steady is a little harder and it shoots 1920 x 1080 HD video.  What a dream camera!  The only difficulty for me is learning a completely different camera’s operation.  I have been working on that since Christmas making sure that I can actually make use of all of the creative extras included in this camera.  The left image above was taken with my new mirrorless Sony. The picture on the right shows the difference in size between the two cameras.  Wow, I can even carry the Sony around in my purse so traveling with it is awesome.

As for my assignment, this is my “2017 Year of Change” submission to show my new challenge and my options for the specific shoots that I do this year.  With both cameras, the image quality and options are nearly identical.  These high megapixel cameras can easily print a 40 x 60 print with incredible clarity.

Well, that’s it for this week.  Next assignment is shooting fragrances.   Another challenge!  Talk to you then.   Let me know if you have any questions and have a great week.

Author: Gloria McDonald

I am a Certified Professional Photographer. I am both a portrait and commercial photographic artist. Wild Mane Photography is my company which began in 2004. I love photographing women of all ages, black and white images, drama with a little glamour added and commercial product images..

Leave a Reply

