Brussels Sprouts or bust!

My commercial photography mentor came up with a flash assignment last week.  In addition to the weekly assignment for class, he added a brussels sprouts flash assignment. Since I am not a fan of them, finding a way to make them appealing was not necessarily in my paradigm.  My initial plan was to take those icky little green balls and turn them into something we wouldn’t have to eat later.  I decided to make them into a Christmas tree with little peppers or red candies for decorations and then sprinkling the whole thing with white glitter.  At least I wouldn’t end up having to eat my creation that way.  Off I went to the store in search of the dreaded brussels sprouts.  Much to my surprise, I didn’t find any of those little things.  Instead all I found was a giant vine of them.  It was so pleasing to the eye that I couldn’t bear to ruin it so I headed to another store.  Much to my horror, the second store presented me with the same giant vine of brussels sprouts.  So, with a game plan change I bought one.  I had it for two days before I finally decided how to create an awesome image with it.  That second day found me heading off to the store again in search of color, shapes and textures to create my vision.   As a matter of fact, in my sprouts search I learned that it is brussels with an “s” sprouts.  Who knew?

Here is my final image.

gloriamcdonald_18-d

For my main light, I used a gridded strip light, a second light with a 7″ reflector with a 20 degree grid and a white board to reflect a hint of light along the base of the sprouts.  I love the way the brussels sprouts twist around that thick vine. Hopefully, the light concentration on the spiral sprouts draws your eye.  I ended up being pleased with the image but now I have to figure out what on earth to do with that green thing.   See you soon!

Author: Gloria McDonald

I am a Certified Professional Photographer. I am both a portrait and commercial photographic artist. Wild Mane Photography is my company which began in 2004. I love photographing women of all ages, black and white images, drama with a little glamour added and commercial product images..

1 thought on “Brussels Sprouts or bust!”

Leave a Reply

