Product Shot for a Magazine

gloriamcdonald_assignment17_8x10

This week brought an interesting assignment.  I was to shoot a cover shot showing equipment for an individual sport.  The image needed to allow for text in the lower right corner and I knew to leave the top area for a magazine’s name.

I chose to highlight target shooting as the sport and bullets as the “equipment”.  I included the pistol and the bullet box with the company name on it for context and composition.  Lighting had to be very precise.  My lighting setup is shown in this diagram below.  The strobe on camera right is a strip light with grid to control the spill.  The lightstand was moved forward and to the right as shown.  Opposite the strip light was a white board reflector.

gloriamcdonald_assignment17diagram

This turned out to be another fun assignment.  Now, on to the next one!  Coming next is “How We Roll”.  See you soon!

Author: Gloria McDonald

I am a Certified Professional Photographer. I am both a portrait and commercial photographic artist. Wild Mane Photography is my company which began in 2004. I love photographing women of all ages, black and white images, drama with a little glamour added and commercial product images..

Leave a Reply

