Expressed by Hands

gloriamcdonald_assignment15

This latest Project 52 assignment was interesting and fun.  I was to create an image that could be used for a double page spread magazine article focused on small creative businesses.  The article would cover the cottage industry businesses popping up all over the country.and include the hands that create the crafts involved.   There were a number of really good submissions for this assignment.   We are all growing and it shows.

Controlling the light is just as important for this kind of image as it is for portraits.  The lighting is often very different and sometimes from a very different angle than for a portrait.  The light must still be observed, adjusted and carefully planned.  We have been asked to include “pull backs” of the scene so that we can all learn by seeing light placements, type of lighting, number of lights and additional items used by different photographers.  How they interpret their vision is always interesting and there is lots to think about.  In my case, I kept it simple.  I used a strip light with my fabric grid attached to control the spread of light.  I then placed it so the light hit at an angle so light hit parts but only skimmed parts of it.  Since there was only one light, my model graciously held a white foam core reflector in front of her face to bounce back light onto the backs of her hands.   I stood on a stool behind her right shoulder and shot down at the scene I was photographing.   The following picture is the pull back.  I owe her a big “thank you” for being such a good sport.  At one point I had it completely covering her face with only her hands and arms coming around it.

Hope you like the finished image and see the trials and tribulation of being a model in the pull back.  Thanks for reading my blog.  Until next time…………

gloriamcdonald_assign15_pullback

Author: Gloria McDonald

I am a Certified Professional Photographer. I am both a portrait and commercial photographic artist. Wild Mane Photography is my company which began in 2004. I love photographing women of all ages, black and white images, drama with a little glamour added and commercial product images..

Leave a Reply

