Project 52, Class Continues

Well, life got in the way so I am way behind posting assignments for my year long commercial photography class.  I missed a couple completely because I had conflicts with my photography business that simply had to come first.  So, I will put assignments up as they are available but not necessarily in order from now on.  That’s life.  You do what you can and improvise for the rest.

gloriamcdonald_assignment-8a

The assignment I am posting today was to create a Halloween double spread magazine article.  It was necessary use an image that allows the written article to appear and the image added should entice your eye to go to the text to read.  I had a lot of fun with this week’s assignment. The images needed to be dark so that the white text showed up. Halloween needs spooky and dark looks anyway so that made it easier.

In the image above, the costuming helped lintroduce Halloween as something that goes way back.  In fact, it actually goes back farther than the Renaissance clothing in the image.  I used a couple of different images in layers to create the second spread.  Since I ended up with two final layouts that worked well, I submitted both. They both fit the assignment but were totally different in feel.  My instructor liked them and felt either would meet the needs of a magazine client plus it gave them choices.  I am not sure whether I have a favorite layout.  Maybe you can choose!

gloriamcdonald_assignment-8b

Author: Gloria McDonald

I am a Certified Professional Photographer. I am both a portrait and commercial photographic artist. Wild Mane Photography is my company which began in 2004. I love photographing women of all ages, black and white images, drama with a little glamour added and commercial product images..

2 thoughts on “Project 52, Class Continues”

  1. Gloria, nice to hear from you. I like the first photo beat and I was enticed to read the script. Love, Jeanean Pollock

Leave a Reply

