52 Weeks of Commercial Creativity Week 3

Still Life

This was a very difficult assignment for me.  I have never created a still life image in my life.  We had to have a minimum of 5 objects in the image and one of them had to be a flower.  I found a still life isn’t lit like a portrait, and setting it up is different than a portrait.  I wound up switching props over and over, changing lighting, shoot, reshooting, adding more props and reshooting again.  The entire day was gone before I knew it and I still wasn’t happy.

gloriamcdonald_assignment3-final

I finally ended up with the image you see although I recropped it tighter than the one I submitted.  I wasn’t the only one in class who struggled with this assignment. Those of us who are used to photographing people were all in the same boat.   Some of our classmates love shooting food and other still life subjects.  They excel at it, in fact.  For me, getting the composition just right didn’t happen.  I am anxious to have another assignment so that I can improve on it.  I have to be prepared to shoot many different things in the commercial world rather than people only.  I have to be able to meet a commercial clients needs and create their vision.  I have to be able to fit their mold rather than mine.  I love the challenge even though it drove me crazy trying to get that still life right.  Maybe next time I will follow my vision better and make my still life to show drama, elegance and sophistication.  Then I will be headed to the place I belong and my images will make me happy.

Next week, photographing an entrepreneur.  See you than!

 

Author: Gloria McDonald

I am a Certified Professional Photographer. I am both a portrait and commercial photographic artist. Wild Mane Photography is my company which began in 2004. I love photographing women of all ages, black and white images, drama with a little glamour added and commercial product images..

2 thoughts on “52 Weeks of Commercial Creativity Week 3”

Leave a Reply

