52 Weeks of Commercial Creativity, Week 2

Week 2 searches for my style and vision.

My Vision StatementDrama, Elegance and Sophistication

Week 2 was a very interesting exercise for me.  I have always been told that when you have created thousands of images, you will develop a style.  I knew what I liked and knew what my clients wanted but I have never had to actually define my style until now.  We were asked to choose the five favorite images we had taken over the years.  Armed with a set of questions to complete, we were to write our vision statement.  As I went through this process and looked at my favorite five, I was shocked to see the similarities among them. Each image was a different female subject, all backgrounds were different, poses were different and some were in color while others were black and white.  The style was definitely the same.  It was just amazing.  It is said that you develop your style by looking back not looking forward at your work.  Now I understand that statement.  I am supposed to keep my vision statement (on the image above) in my mind as I create images.  My vision statement is really just for me, not my clients.  It is what inspires me, what makes my heart sing and what should be visible in each of my images.  As I incorporate my vision, I hope that one day my pictures will be recognizable as mine and stand out in some way so people say, “Gloria McDonald created this image.”

Thanks for reading this.  See you for Week 3, Still Life.

 

Author: Gloria McDonald

I am a Certified Professional Photographer. I am both a portrait and commercial photographic artist. Wild Mane Photography is my company which began in 2004. I love photographing women of all ages, black and white images, drama with a little glamour added and commercial product images..

Leave a Reply

