52 Weeks of Commercial Creativity

Week 1 of my 52 week journey into commercial photography begins now.

It has been almost a year since I added anything to my blog.  My last post was so deeply moving for me that I just haven’t had the heart to write something new.   I wanted that final tribute to my friend to be what everyone saw.

I think it’s time to update my blog and turn the page.  I have been a working professional photographer since 2004.   During this time, I have continued my photographic education. One of the things I love about photography is that you never get to the end and can always seek a higher level of expertise.  I took a black and white class in the spring and in September I began a 52 week Commercial Photography class called Project 52 (P52).  I hope that you decide to come along for the ride.  This course is going to stretch me as I learn the ins and outs of commercial photography to add to my portraiture work.

Our first assignment was to approach a stranger and photograph them.  There are varied backgrounds and varied levels of photographers in P52 so approaching a stranger was more difficult for some than for others.   This was a fun way to start the year since I’m used to approaching strangers for photography.   I made the image pretending that it was a commercial assignment.  Since I am a portrait photographer, I decided on using her as a model selling cosmetics.  I found my stranger at Ulta so, of course, cosmetics was the perfect fit.  Here is the image that I submitted for assignment #1.

gloriamcdonald_assignment-1

I’ll continue to share my assignments as I have them finished.  The next submission requires me to create my Vision Statement with a picture to illustrate it.  Definitely a challenge!

Author: Gloria McDonald

I am a Certified Professional Photographer. I am both a portrait and commercial photographic artist. Wild Mane Photography is my company which began in 2004. I love photographing women of all ages, black and white images, drama with a little glamour added and commercial product images..

1 thought on “52 Weeks of Commercial Creativity”

  1. DEAR GLORIA THANKS SO MUCH FOR REMEMBERING TO POST ME. YOU WERE SUCH A GOOD FRIEND TO MY DAUGHTER, RITA, AND ME. WE PUT HER ASHES AT SOUTH PADRE ISLAND LAST SATURDAY AS SHE REQUESTED. MAY THE LORD BLESS YOU AS YOU CONTINUE TO GROW IN YOUR PHOTOGRAPHY. IF YOU ARE EVER IN SOUTH TEXAS, PLEASE COME SEE ME. LOVE, JEANEAN POLLOCK

Leave a Reply

