Wow………this is a never ending story!

I am writing yet again to continue the “Baby Watch” saga. I keep thinking it can’t go on any longer and I am always wrong. Miss Ellie is bagged up (udder) but is not waxed up. She is huge and getting bigger. She is eating like it is her last meal and groans when she is laying down. But………….no baby. I tried to get a decent angle for a picture this morning with my cell phone but the camera just isn’t good enough to let you see the difference from the rear. When I try to take one from the front she comes immediately towards me for brushing so I can’t get decent a front view. She must be hoping that one of these days I will get her out of this mess. If this foal continues to refuse to enter our world by the week-end, I will take my good camera down there. It is so dusty down there I have avoided taking it down there much.

So, gang, yet again I have no news. I am a bit concerned about the size of the foal but, hopefully, all will go well when the time really does come. I feel badly that I moved Ellie away from the rest of the herd so early. Who knew??? Next time, I will have a better idea of the progress of donkey maternity.

With any luck, I will update you with pictures of a new little jack or jenny sooner rather than later. Gee, I think I have said this before………..

Author: Gloria McDonald

I am a Certified Professional Photographer. I am both a portrait and commercial photographic artist. Wild Mane Photography is my company which began in 2004. I love photographing women of all ages, black and white images, drama with a little glamour added and commercial product images..

4 thoughts on “Wow………this is a never ending story!”

  1. I am so enjoying your updates, but question. Why does Momma have to be away from the rest of the donkeys to give birth? Do you have quite a few donkeys? Also, if the day ever comes that I can see this baby, do you ever give visitation rights? Blessings

    1. Hi Lorilee, In answer to your question, in the animal kingdom, some animals will harm (at the very least) a new animal in a herd even if it is a foal. Since I have two horses, a jack (male donkey) and three other jennies (female donkey), it isn’t safe for Ellie to give birth with them. Obviously, things are different in the wild. We had a foal arrive during the day while my mare was with a another mare. When the colt was born, the non-mother tried to take over the foal. It was very interesting but also rather alarming at the time. It took three of us to separate the Arabian mare from the new quarterhorse stud colt and his mother.

      Yes, I would love to have you come visit this new baby if it ever arrives. I am looking forward to lots of visitors. All they need to do is let me know they want to come visit. What fun to get to show off one of these precious little creatures.

  2. Having a Grand Donkey is so exciting, and from your post very tiring. Hopefully soon, we will see a picture of Miss Ellie and your new Grand Donkey. Love ya.

Leave a Reply

