Running the Race

WEB_9363

The battle with cancer and dealing with the medicines used to irradicate it results in a long and arduous race.  We all have some level of fear and dread when we hear the word cancer. There are lots of questions and stories of miraculous cures and frightening lost battles to absorb as people share their stories.  As I travel along the path with Rita, I am learning things that I haven’t known.  There is an encouraging peace that seems to come with knowledge.  That is not to say that knowledge changes what is happening but learning details about what to expect, side effects and reasons behind what doctors decide calms fears and gently moves one to incorporate each stage and change as a part of daily life at that moment in time.  As I see Rita take each chemo treatment, deal with exhaustion and hair loss, I watch her continue to live life as fully as possible, work with joy and share her daily walk with an appreciation for all those who want to help and who touch her heart in many different ways.  It is a time for friends and family to pull together in the ways we should always be.  There are things to learn, hearts to soothe, joys to share and the rest of the race to be run.   This view of everyday life is touching people who know Rita, people who know me and people neither of us know who are reading this blog.  That is what Rita hoped for when we began this photographic journey.  With tests, a lumpectomy, four chemo treatments finished and 12 new chemo treatments starting next Monday, those who are reading and praying for her are learning from Rita how to run this race with faith, hope, joy, determination and with the peace of God which surpasses all understanding (Phil 4:6-7).

WEB_9417

Author: Gloria McDonald

I am a Certified Professional Photographer. I am both a portrait and commercial photographic artist. Wild Mane Photography is my company which began in 2004. I love photographing women of all ages, black and white images, drama with a little glamour added and commercial product images..

4 thoughts on “Running the Race”

  1. Thank you so much for these updates on Rita! Rita, you look beautiful, and we already know that you are as beautiful on the inside as you are on the outside. Jack and I pray for you every day! The story of your journey with cancer is so encouraging, and it is exciting to see you using the cancer for our Savior’s glory. A verse that has come to mean so much to me is Psalm 29:11: “The LORD will give strength to His people; The LORD will bless His people with peace.” I remember crying out to the Lord for His strength and His peace at the beginning of our journey, and then He showed me this verse! He is so faithful to His children. We love you, Rita!!

  2. You have to know Rita, to really understand just how amazing she really is. I hope she realizes that all us that know and love her, are wtih her on this journey in our prayers. I see her smile, when I know she does not feel well and I have yet to hear her complain. Thanks to you and Gloria McDonald for letting us share your journey. With Love…..

  3. Hello! I do not think I have entered into your world of blog until now. I finally saw Rita last Monday, and as expected, it was difficult. But it helped a lot to see her looking so good. (it wasn’t what I expected.) I truly thank my gracious God for that. just like my son-in-law Scott, this trial, journey, is met with not only faith, joy, and a determination toward great health, but they both have exibited so much dignity. The loyality to their Lord is exhibited clearly that He is the only one who will see them through this incredible season. My prayers
    for Rita and family continue. Blessings and great love, Lorilee

  4. Well written, Gloria. Rita is an inspiration to all of us, and an encouragement to live life to the fullest every day. There is so much to be thankful for, and so often we don’t even realize it until it is too late. Best wishes for a quick recovery and an easy next step, Rita. You are also in our prayers every night!

Leave a Reply

