Red Devil Round #3

web_9011

Today, Rita started the third of four chemo treatments using the medicine called Red Devil.   I hate that name but I certainly see why everyone seems to call it that.  It is strong and is meant to hit cancer cells hard.  That is the good part.  The bad part is that is hits good cells, too.  It also can create difficult side effects.  It causes hair loss, extreme fatigue, lack of appetite, nausea or worse.  It affects each person differently.  I don’t even pretend to know all the issues it can cause.  The silver lining for Rita is that after today, she is 3/4 finished with this form of her chemotherapy.  It took Rita more days to bounce back from treatment two than it did from treatment one.  I guess we will soon see how number three affects her.  We are all praying that her issues will be minimal rather than enhanced.  What I see is her uplifted spirit as she went back to work last week and her beauty both inside and out.  When I saw her last Friday she felt “almost normal”.  I loved seeing her laughing and watching her busy and contributing as she was doing her “manager” thing at Twice as Nice.

We planned a photo session last week but it was terribly cold and we didn’t want to chance her getting sick before her treatment today.  So, we have set a date week after next  for a fashion session.  That will give her body time to reset itself after today’s treatment and get her appetite back to normal.   Watch for images from that coming in the next few weeks.

In the meantime, keep checking back as I post some of the more “interesting” images from our prior sessions.  I just heard from Rita and she is finished with treatment three and home feeling decent so far.  We continue our prayers that she continues to feel good.

web_8908

Author: Gloria McDonald

I am a Certified Professional Photographer. I am both a portrait and commercial photographic artist. Wild Mane Photography is my company which began in 2004. I love photographing women of all ages, black and white images, drama with a little glamour added and commercial product images..

3 thoughts on “Red Devil Round #3”

  1. We were so glad to have Rita back at work, and being pretty close to her old self. She seemed to feel pretty good and looked beautiful. Praying that the rest of the treatments go well without a lot of side effects.

  2. What a great blog, and Rita has so much personality! We are praying for her here. I hope her treatments go as well as she can, and she comes out free and clear in the end. Hang in there Rita. You are obviously strong a lovely person!

  3. For Rita … Jack posted this link when he asked his buds to pray for you, and I think also for everyone who cares for you as well. I said I would pray for you and that I remembered you as a strong and beautiful young woman … now I see that the years took, gently, only your youth.
    After college I did a bit of volunteer work on a “crisis hot line” in the metroplex and they required us to select a “name” different from our own. I immediately chose “Rita”, without hesitation, I think my soul knew that Rita could pretty much gracefully handle anything thrown at her (you were the only person with that name I knew anything about … so, thanks for the “persona”).
    I will pray for you Rita … this time is only part of your journey, but it certainly looks like you are going to bring every lovely, vivacious, bit of who you’ve become to this “who you are becoming”.

    Beautiful images! Precious.

    DeAnn

Leave a Reply

