HDR??? Sunset in Texas……………not so fast!

Well, when I jump in the deep end, apparently I jump with both feet.  I have been wanting to try HDR (high dynamic range) photography for a while.  I posted a gorgeous HDR image taken by Bay Area Photographer Todd Sipes on my Wild Mane Photos facebook page.  That picture inspired me to try creating an HDR image myself for the first time.  I didn’t have my tripod so that was a problem. Each shot has to be of the same shot so a tripod would have been a great help.  Holding my breath while I shot 5 images at different exposures had to do. The 5 versions ranged from under exposed to exposed to over exposed.  The idea is to have a depth in each tone in a wider color range that you can’t get with one perfectly exposed image.  Well, I ended up with something but not what I expected. My originals were different shades of dark and moody.  This image is the final product with all 5 images layered.  I wasn’t sure that I liked it much until my husband saw it on my monitor and loved it.  So………….I guess I’ll try some more of them and explore the possibilities.  The process is quite interesting…………..and surprising.  I expected the final image to come out dark and moody but as you can see, the final image doesn’t look like it’s almost dark at all.  I want to do more now!

One of the coolest things about this “photo every day” is that it is making me really have to think about what to do.  Living in the country should provide me with lots of material.  This image is of the stock tank on the other side of one of my pastures.  Tonight, I saw a white buck, a white doe and a brown fawn in the pasture across my road.  Did I have my camera………………….no!  Oh well, this one you will have to just picture in your mind.  Bambi and his parents weren’t the least bit bothered by my gawking at them.

Until tomorrow, feel free to send me photo op ideas!

Author: Gloria McDonald

I am a Certified Professional Photographer. I am both a portrait and commercial photographic artist. Wild Mane Photography is my company which began in 2004. I love photographing women of all ages, black and white images, drama with a little glamour added and commercial product images..

Leave a Reply

